Certified Internal Auditor

Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) The CIA is the primary professional designation offered by The IIA. The CIA designation is a globally recognized certification for internal auditors and is a standard by which individuals may demonstrate their competency and professionalism in the internal audit field. In order to earn the CIA, one must possess a U.S. college degree or equivalent academic qualification from another country (work experience cannot be substituted for the degree), have a professional reference, pass a four-part exam (exemptions may be secured from part four via other relevant professional qualifications), and complete 24 months in the internal audit profession.


CIA candidates must hold a bachelor’s degree (or higher degree) or its educational equivalent from an accredited college-level institution. Applicants must meet the education requirement before their CIA application can be approved and before they can register and sit for any CIA exam parts. CIA candidates must obtain a minimum of 24 months of internal auditing experience or its equivalent. • Acceptable equivalent experience includes experience in audit/assessment disciplines, external auditing, quality assurance, compliance, and internal control. • A master’s degree or work experience in related business professions (such as accounting, law, or finance) can be substituted for 12 of the required 24 months of professional internal auditing experience.

CIA Exam Content:

Part 1 – The Internal Audit Activity’s Role in Governance, Risk, and Control
Part 2 – Conducting the Internal Audit Engagement
Part 3 – Business Analysis and Information Technology
Part 4 – Business Management Skills.